A 2014 language challenge! Norwegian mastery, & Starting something new…

by Thomas Corcoran

“This year, everyone who isn’t bilingual should try their best to make an effort – it’s not about being fluent as such, but to at least know small amounts of any language is good.”

I am a 19 year-old English person who speaks Norwegian – I started learning the language 2-3 years ago, and I have now long pasted fluency, and I am hoping to achieve native level within the next year or so. One thing that I have to say, is it feels very strange to actually reach the point of fluency, because when you start out, it’s fluency that you’re trying to reach! … When you’ve got there, it feels strange, scary, but also fantastic! I am so proud that I have achieved so much in this time, however these days I find that it’s more a case of keeping up my skills, as opposed to learning new things about the Norwegian language.

SO… For this reason, I have decided to learn a new language! I enjoy the learning process A LOT, and my Norwegian can improve subtly over the next year simultaneously. I spent the past 3 months deciding upon which language to try, and I was undecided between Spanish, & Mandarin Chinese. I also thought a bit about Swedish, because I can already understand most of Swedish because of my Norwegian skills. I then thought it might be a little too close for my liking! HOWEVER, I have decided upon Mandarin! My goal is to take my time, and have exposure to Mandarin everyday – and hopefully by the end of my University course, which will be another three years – I will be fairly good! I may also try Spanish a bit too.

This 3rd paragraph is to you – I want to give you a challenge – maybe you are already doing something similar, or maybe you have never thought about doing so. Perhaps you will be persuaded now. Maybe you won’t do a thing. However, I want you to at least think about learning a new language this year. Even if you only learn some phrases, that will do. This year, everyone who isn’t bilingual should try their best to make an effort – it’s not about being fluent as such, but to at least know small amounts of any language is good.

I wish you good luck with whatever you do in any case! Have a good year! (:

Thomas – TheNorgeScone (Visit my YouTube channel TheNorgeScone!)

